+91 76790 91881

Income Tax Office Mumbai (Location Guide)

Mumbai contributes more than 6.6% of the Indian economy. If we talk about income tax alone, Mumbai’s contribution is 30% of the overall tax collection of India. This state is the hub of generating massive revenue and jobs for a population of about 2.7 crores who live here.

With the large revenue comes large tax implications. The Income Tax Department of Mumbai is thus carefully designed to cater to all that is required for a smooth functioning revenue system of collecting taxes. 

This article will shed some light on the organisational structure of the Income Tax Office Mumbai, how to contact the officers, and other inputs.

Income Tax Department Structure

There is not just one post as Income Tax Commissioner anywhere in India under the Income Tax Department, Ministry of Revenue, and Finances. Actually, the designation commissioner is supported by the divisions it is part of. Like, the head is called the Principal Chief Commissioner of Income Tax. Which is one person for a whole region. 

Currently, The Chief Commissioner of the Mumbai region is Smt. Geetha Ravichandran. She is an IRS officer from Batch 1987. She was appointed for the post on April 26, 2022.

Vinay Sinha is the Commissioner of Income Tax of the Administrative and TPS department.

Kanchan Chetan Bhatia and Pratibha Satish Nair are P.S. of the Mumbai region. 

How Many Income Tax Commissioners Are There in Mumbai?

The income tax department of Mumbai is headed by the principal chief commissioner of income tax. The Pr. CCIT has 11 chief commissioners of income tax, 2 chief commissioners of income tax at the central level, and 1-chief commissioner of income tax for TDS, 1 Chief Commissioner of Income-tax of IT and TP, and 1 Director general of income tax of Investigation. 

Departments controlled and managed by these officers include:

  1. Income Tax & Revenue
  2. Legislation & Systems
  3. Legislation & Systems
  4. Admin. & Faceless Scheme(s)
  5. Investigation
  6. Taxpayers Services 
  7. Audit 
  8. Judicial.

The above divisions have several CIT, DGIT, AO, and other designations under them. It is based on the area/nodal region requirement in the Mumbai state.

Income Tax Officer List Mumbai

If you are curious to know about the names of the officers working in the Income Tax Department of Mumbai, take these steps.

  1. The income tax department website of Mumbai can be accessed through this link
  2. Now, click on the menu, Contact Your Officer.
  3. A new page will be opened containing the list of all the officers working under the different designations of the IT department of Mumbai. The designations will show the HQRS Officers, ITO Officers, AC DC Officers, JCIT, Addl. CIT, ADG CIT Officers, and PCIT & Above Officer.

The list also contains the contact numbers and office addresses of the officers.

To Get the Income Tax Officer Contact Number and Income Tax Office Mumbai Address, click here

Here is the address of the TDS Headquarters of the Mumbai Region.

Address: CHIEF COMMISSIONER OF INCOME TAX(TDS), 9th Floor, Cumballa Hill, MTNL Building, Pedder Road, Mumbai – 400 026. 

The following table shows the telephone numbers, and mobile numbers of the Chief Commissioner of Income Tax-TDS, DCIT To CCIT, Income Tax Officer, and other officials of this department. 

DesignationName of the officialOffice Tel.No.LocationEPBX No.Mobile no.
CCIT(TDS) Vasundhara Sinha23529425CH-9019019912205999
DCIT(HQ) to CCIT(TDS)Jaya Lakhwani23517092CH-9049048077655528
ITO(HQ) to CCIT(TDS)Ravi Shekhar Singh23529504CH-9039039969232930 
Sr.PS to CCIT(TDS)Sweety Kapoor23529425CH-9029029969235406 
AO to CCIT(TDS)Ramesh GawdeCH-9139139969233303


The address of the other office of the Chief Commissioner of Income Tax TDS is:

10th Floor, Mrs. K G Mittal Ayurvedic Prachar Sanstha Building, Marine Drive, Charni Road (west), Mumbai.  

Contact No: 022 – 22812323, 22819125, 22819184

Email: mumbai.ccit.tds@incometax.gov.in



The TDS department at Charni Road oversees the cases of the Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai and Navi Mumbai.

Click here to see the fax no for all the designators in the TDS department of Income Tax Mumbai region. 

FAQs: Income Tax Office Mumbai

Income Tax Commissioner Mumbai, 2022

The Principal Chief Commissioner of Income Tax appointed in April 2022 is Smt. Geetha Raghvendram. She is from the 1978 batch. She has also served as the Principal chief commissioner of Income Tax in Tamil Nadu and the Puducherry region in her past tenure.

Income Tax Office Mumbai Contact Number

The landline contact numbers of the Income Tax office are 022 – 22812323,  22819125, and 22819184.


Mumbai solely generates massive revenue for India. Its share in India’s total tax collection is 32%. This article on income tax office Mumbai is an attempt to answer the basic queries of our readers about the commissioners and the contact details of offices. The article has valid links to a directory of the Income-tax officers working in the Mumbai region. If you have further queries, feel free to write to us. 

Recommended Articles

Income Tax Payable 2023 (All You Need to Know)

Income Tax Is a Direct Tax (Complete Guide)

Request A Callback

    You may Also Call Us At

    +91 76790 91881
    Scroll to Top